The Ipswich Orchestral Society

Registered Charity No 276724


The Ipswich Orchestral Society has performed concerts in Ipswich since 1902 and is one of the oldest amateur orchestras in the UK.  During more than a century of high quality music making, the Orchestra has built up an enviable reputation for performing adventurous and challenging programmes.


Previous conductors include Sir Colin Davis and Rumon Gamba. Our present conductor, Adam Gatehouse, has worked with the Orchestra since 2000, during which time the repertoire has been expanded and developed to encompass some of the greatest works of the symphonic repertoire - including symphonies by Mahler, Shostakovich, Tchaikovsky and Rachmaninov, as well as music by Beethoven, Strauss, Debussy and Leonard Bernstein.


In recent years the Orchestra has worked with some major world-renowned soloists including Nicola Benedetti, Dame Felicity Lott, Julian Lloyd Webber and the Orchestra’s new Patron, Noriko Ogawa, bringing some of the very best international talent to Ipswich audiences every season. 


Working within our community is important to the Ipswich Orchestral Society. Our Summer concert has been a significant component of the Ip-Art Festival for many years.  In March each year we present an afternoon Family Concert which, by careful choice of popular music, aims to engage and inspire a new, young audience to take part in live musical performance.


All our concerts are performed in the Ipswich Corn Exchange. Tickets are available from the Ipswich Arts and Entertainments Booking Office and orchestra members. Further information is available on the Tickets page. 


Please explore our website to see what we do.  We hope to see you at our concerts very soon.



The Ipswich Orchestral Society is a Member of the Ipswich Arts Association and the Making Music organisation.



If you wish to contribute to this web site or contact the Ipswich Orchestral Society,

please send an email to ios@wheatstone.co.uk


New web site launched 17 January 2008.

Updated 24 March 2014.